Tool’s Forty Six & 2 Drum Break (transcription)

Posted on June 19, 2012

0


At the Austin School of Rock: 

Joey: What tunes are the kids going to be playing for the summer camp show?

Rick, the Austin School of Rock’s music director, rattles off a number of songs that the kids will be learning and subsequently performing two weeks later. The only thing I really hear him say is Forty Six & 2 (by contemporary rock masters Tool). I didn’t hear anything else NOT because I wasn’t paying attention, but because that song SCARES THE CRAP OUT OF ME!

There’s a drum break in the middle of that song that rivals anything I’ve ever heard, from Elvin Jones to Terry Bozzio. Danny Carey (Tool’s drummer) isn’t difficult to replicate because of his virtuosic hands and feet.  That kind of stuff is only half the battle. His phrasing and musicality are second to none. That kind of stuff is HARD to reproduce.

I met Danny Carey years ago at a Pigmy Love Circus recording session in Cleveland, Ohio. I sat five feet away from him and watched him play for an hour. He was stunning. One of the most MUSICAL performances I’ve ever seen. Anywhere. From the classical concert stage to basement punk shows.

Anyway, back to Forty Six & 2. I remember there being a transcription of that drum break in a Modern Drummer magazine years back. Unfortunately, after hours of scouring the Internet, the only things I found were drum tabs that didn’t really do the break justice. I sat down and started transcribing. This is what I came up with:

My transcription is far from perfect, but it gives the player a general idea of what’s going on. Try playing it. I dare you.

Congratulations! You can play the drum break unaccompanied from start to finish! That’s great if you’re playing in your basement by yourself. Unfortunately for you, this break is a giant musical build, which means you have to fit in with what the other players in the band are doing rhythmically:

I’ll bet dollars to doughnuts Danny Carey can sing these band figures while playing the drum break. Can you? Happy practicing!

Your friendly neighborhood drum teacher,

Joey Scale

Posted in: Drum Lessons